Explore Newsletters from ECT News Network » View Samples | Subscribe
Welcome Guest | Sign In
ECommerceTimes.com
Dell Apex Sets High Bar for As-A-Service Offerings
May 10, 2021
Last week at Dell Technologies World, the most significant announcement was a massive as-a-service offering called Dell Technologies Apex. This promises to return the IT market to its long lost but fondly remembered IBM past. Let's talk about Apex this week. We'll then close with the product of the week, an impressive new WiFi 6E wireless mesh solution from Linksys.
Autonomous Cars + IoT, and Life or Death Decisions
May 3, 2021
An ecosystem is being created where cars and robots are autonomous and connected so they will be able to connect to other devices, sensors, and data repositories available to them. Let's explore some safety risks associated with this future connectivity on our roadways. We'll then close with the product of the week: a new tablet that is Amazon's first real effort to build a Surface-like laptop.
AirTags vs. Tile and Apple's Antitrust Future
April 26, 2021
U.S. senators heading antitrust issues have flagged Apple's new AirTag effort as potentially anticompetitive after Tile CEO CJ Prober started complaining because Apple could put his company out of business. Let's talk about Apple, vendor lock-in, and antitrust. Then we'll close with the product of the week, the new AMD-powered Surface Laptop in beautiful black.
New Netrunner 21.01 'XOXO' Worthy of Hugs and Kisses
April 21, 2021
When I last visited the ever-changing Netrunner distribution, I said that Netrunner Linux still went its own way. That was its twentieth rebirthday upgrade over its then 10-year history in late February 2020. The same is true for Netrunner 21.01 XOXO -- now with more modern trappings. This new release is something much more reminiscent of the 1990's Linux Netrunner's look and feel. That is not necessarily a bad thing.
Nvidia and the End of Movies as We Know Them
April 19, 2021
GTC21, this year's Nvidia GPU Technology Conference, was terrific as always. The alleged focus was on AI and autonomous cars. But, as I watched presentation after presentation from folks out of the entertainment industry, I realized that if you started putting some of these various elements together, they effectively predicted the end of movies as stand-alone, costly entertainment.
A Cure for What Ails Social Media
April 12, 2021
Social media has become the home of fake news, unscrupulous advertising, places to dole out abuse, and disseminate alternative history. Let's talk about what is likely to happen to social media companies; and how they might work to prevent that outcome. We'll close with the product of the week, a category-busting new smartwatch from OnePlus.
Cisco, Microsoft and a Simulated Workplace Future
April 5, 2021
When technology is advancing very rapidly, the leading providers of an evolving class of products are on very different pages. I'm talking about Cisco and Microsoft -- and while neither's approach is wrong, neither is complete -- and together they can build what's needed for our hybrid workplace future. Let's talk about the advantages of a simulated workplace done right, and we'll close with the product of the week, a new graphics card from AMD.
Intel CEO Gives Unwarlike 'Going to War' Speech
March 29, 2021
Pat Gelsinger's Intel is looking like the very different company it needs to be. It is more collaborative than combative, more strategic than tactical, with a far more effective plan than it has had since Andy Grove left the firm. Let's talk about how Gelsinger presents Intel as an execution and partnering powerhouse, and we'll close with the product of the week, a new set of headphones from Lenovo.
Latest LinDoz: An Ideal Windows-to-Linux Crossover
March 29, 2021
MakuluLinux is an unusually creative operating system that developer Jacque Montague Raymer is constantly changing with each major upgrade. Some of these changes are radical and innovative. Trust me on this point. I have had my hands on so many Linux varieties that the really good ones are in a league of their own. MakuluLinux is at the top of that list.
Nvidia + Arm and the Challenges of Building a New Type of Tech Company
March 22, 2021
Nvidia is in the process of working through regulatory approvals to buy Arm from SoftBank -- a technology holding company with mixed success husbanding its acquisitions. Let's explore this acquisition, the most significant regulatory hurdles the effort needs to overcome, and what might result once the two firms are one. We'll close with the product of the week: Nvidia's GeForce Now.
The EU's Cure for the E-Waste Epidemic
March 15, 2021
Globally, we throw out 50 million tons of electronics waste every year, which is the equivalent of 1,000 laptops every second. This month the EU addressed this problem with a comprehensive "right to repair" law to dramatically reduce this waste. Let's explore electrical hardware sustainability issues this week, and look at a laptop that seems to anticipate these new e-waste regulations.
Trisquel Linux Wraps Polish and Productivity Into Four User Needs
March 9, 2021
Trisquel Linux is one of those computing staples you wished you knew about much sooner. This Linux distribution has been around literally for years and is extremely polished. It offers a family of Linux editions that meet or exceed the needs of home users, small enterprises, and educational centers. Trisquel can also be an ideal platform for multimedia workstations.
An Update on the Fourth Industrial Revolution
March 1, 2021
We are in the midst of what many are calling the Fourth Industrial Revolution. This is a time of disruption, massive change, opportunities, and significant risks. Fortunes will shift, companies will fail, and new companies will rise from the ashes. Let's look at where we are in this latest Industrial Revolution, and where we'll likely be when this wave ends in 10 to 40 years. We'll close with the product of the week, a new conferencing camera/speaker from Poly.
It's Time to Consider 3D Printed Homes
February 22, 2021
This emerging building method is far less wasteful, far faster, and far cheaper to build much sturdier homes. The only real downside is that the skills and technology to build these houses aren't widely available yet. Still, a shift to 3D printed building could create many new jobs, and the training required isn't considered exceedingly difficult. Let's talk about 3D printed homes, and we'll close with the product of the week, the ARM-based HP Elite Folio.
Wearable Device Aims to Diminish Distractions, Sharpen Focus
February 11, 2021
Foci is a "Focus Wearable" device by U.K.-based company Tinylogics that combines cognitive biometrics with artificial intelligence and machine learning to help you focus better. That combination of technologies presents an eerie yet intriguing approach to help people easily bothered by mental distractions a way to clear out their brain clutter.
Rethinking the Sustainable Electric Automobile
February 1, 2021
Qualcomm has announced several products that will be used to enhance next-generation automobiles. These future cars will most certainly be electric and increasingly autonomous. Let's discuss that this week -- and we'll take a close look at a forthcoming Cadillac that could be more of a technology showcase than anything by Tesla.
KrowdFit Gives Fitness Trackers a New Motivational Dimension
January 28, 2021
Do you welcome physical fitness like a fish in water, or does it take a trip to the clothing store for larger sizes to get you moving? If you need a push, perhaps a new motivational tool called KrowdFit will be more to your liking. It pays you cash to put your fitness tracking devices on. The KrowdFit wellness app uses a novel twist to a childhood motivational method. It pays you cash to keep physically active.
GeckoLinux Does OpenSuse Better
January 25, 2021
GeckoLinux is a unique distribution that goes a long way towards unifying the often-confusing array of workstation choices available to business and mainstream consumers looking for an alternative to other computing platforms. This distro is fully functional, offers some of the best Linux desktop environments available, and avoids the pitfalls of distros that make using Linux bothersome.
High Time for Cyberlaw Enforcement and a Future of Work Strategy
January 25, 2021
Huawei has events where it pulls together key analysts to focus on problems it thinks are critical to the future. At its last event, Huawei spoke about two areas that need considerable work. Let's talk this week about the need for centralized cyberlaw enforcement, and the need for a clear vision on the future of work. We'll close with the product of the week, a new 40" curved monitor from Dell.
CES 2021: What Worked, What Didn't
January 18, 2021
We still seem to do these remote activities as we did when we met in person. Streaming and video conferencing tools we are using still don't allow us to do what we once did face-to-face, but they have other advantages that aren't being utilized to make the experience better. Let's talk about who did a great job, and what worked at CES; and then what sucked at the event. We'll close with a look at a promised new vehicle from GM: the Cadillac Lyriq.
Standout Tech Products of 2020
December 21, 2020
TechNewsWorld columnist Rob Enderle looks back at all of the Products of the Week he selected during the year and picks the one that made the most significant impression to crown the Product of the Year. Let's look at the contenders that made the initial cut, and then he'll rank the top four products leading up to the 2020 Product of the Year.
A Mini Browser War in Linux
December 14, 2020
Two new Web browsing alternatives widen the field of browser choices for Linux users. The recent introduction of Microsoft Edge for Linux, and the Dec. 8 release of Vivaldi version 3.5 offer the freedom to experience a Google-free vehicle to navigate the Internet. Edge on Linux has the potential for widespread adoption. Proprietary Vivaldi is already well established on Linux and other platforms.
The Evolution of Personal Communications Technology Through 2050
December 14, 2020
Sometime in the 2030s PCs and phones will merge, if they hadn't already. In the 2040s people and personal technology will merge as humans and robotics evolve into hybrids of each other. Since we're approaching the end of 2020, let's talk about what's on the way over the next three decades, and build up to what's in store for personal communications technology in 2050.
AntiX Linux: Not Pretty but Highly Functional
December 7, 2020
The antiX distro offers a solid operating system that many other Linux communities fail to deliver. It is unassuming, but reliable, and focuses on performance rather than prettiness. That last element goes a long way to giving users distraction-free computing power. That does not mean antiX is not appealing visually. This distro has a no-nonsense appearance.
Tech Gift Ideas to Help Tackle Your Holiday Shopping List
November 30, 2020
Today is Cyber Monday, which doesn't mean as much this year because the related sales have been going on for much of November as retailers try to bring in every available dollar they can. This week, let's look at some of the best deals or products that stand out as game changers in their segment.
High-Tech Workouts With Activ5: No Gym, No Problem
November 4, 2020
This Bluetooth-enabled portable workout and strength training device coaches users through five-minute full body workouts and measures data such as strength, precision, and other personal metrics. No sweat and no gym required. That phrase piqued my interest to try this new approach to strength building.
AdGuard Home: Another Brick in the Ad-Blocking Wall
October 29, 2020
Canonical's AdGuard Home Ubuntu Appliance is a new addition to the ranks of its appliances. With this offering, users can quickly implement a ready-made solution for blocking bothersome content at the network level on a home network. Doing so involves no more than downloading, installing, and booting the newly released lean Ubuntu image with the AdGuard Home service pre-installed and pre-configured.
Newest RoboLinux 11 Update Goes Far Beyond Typical Linux
October 11, 2020
RoboLinux is one of the most advanced desktop Linux distributions you can find. The latest release is even better, making it potentially THE best Linux variety available today for desktop users. The Oct. 9 release of RoboLinux 11.13 is an upgraded build of the project's Ubuntu-based distribution. But wait, there is a whole lot more to RoboLinux than just another Ubuntu-based retread.
Microsoft Surface Duo: Rethinking the Smartphone
September 14, 2020
For many of us a phone should predominantly be a way to communicate and aid productivity, as opposed to being a device of distractions. Though we communicate far differently these days, and the apps we use to communicate seem to prefer larger screens. This brings us to Microsoft's Surface Duo, which has twin screens and is very different from the foldable phones with which it will compete.
New MakuluLinux Distro Puts a 'Shift' in Your Computing Routine
September 7, 2020
MakuluLinux Shift is a well-designed Linux distro that blends several mainstream design concepts with performance features not found elsewhere. One of Shift's unique traits is its ability to modify key design elements effortlessly. Hence, its name. A few other Linux distros have mechanisms to alter the look and feel of the desktop, but they work less ideally.
See More Articles in Reviews Section >>
Ekata Pro Insight Identity Review
What was your initial reaction to news of the Colonial Pipeline cyberattack?
It demonstrates that all critical infrastructure sectors are at high risk of disruption by cybercriminals.
Everyone will be paying for this attack in the form of higher energy costs.
Governments need to work more closely with private industries to protect networks for the sake of public safety.
It's a global problem. An international alliance must be formed to hold the perpetrators accountable and prevent future attacks.
Waylay IO
Contact Center AI Explained by Pop Culture